Author Topic: Sword and Board  (Read 3073 times)

Tsumikiro

Sword and Board
« on: April 13, 2013, 10:44:23 PM »
     SnB has always been kinda meh.  When I first started TL2 as an engi I found the skill and thought it was awesome that there was some offensive incentive to having a shield.  The small amount of damage was off-set by the fact that most one handed weps swing very fast.  Down the road, unfortunately I found that the % armor to wep damage was always rather low especially considering the small amount of armor on shields.  The damage never really amounted to much.  I found myself choosing other passives and some actives in favor of SnB.
     This was before I started playing with Synergies.  The passive feels almost pointless now.  The damage return for the skill point investment is very low.  90% of the armor on Parma's Coal-Burner (175) is 157.5 damage.  On a .64 speed wep this is another 246.09 dps.  Added to a Netherblade's 948 dps is an increase of 26%.  This doesn't measure up to the dps increase a 2h user gets from Heavy Lifting, and it doesn't add any utility like Heavy Lifting's stun.  A stun that also melds with other passive choices. 
     Yes, it could be said that the added defensive benefit of wielding a shield outweighs any shortcomings SnB might have as a dps boost.  I won't argue against that, because its true. But it is still a boring skill that adds no utility for a marginal dps gain.
    If I were to change it, Id make it more intricate while adding synergy with other passives.  Adding defensive and offensive incentives to take the passive skill and max it.

Sorry that this is a skill remake.

Sword and Board:
"Extensive training with shields and martial weapons increases your chance to block and turns your shield into a dangerous weapon."

Using a standard attack with a 1h Melee weapon increases your chance to block by .5% for 2 seconds.