Author Topic: Storm Embermage Charge  (Read 4761 times)

KooriJoufu

Storm Embermage Charge
« on: April 14, 2013, 02:22:20 AM »
I recently started playing Torchlight II with Synergies and today I got around to messing with the Embermage. Thinking that the storm tree would be pretty interesting I soon noticed one glaring flaw about the spells. None of them besides Prismatic Bolt give you any charge and it's not like the spells were particularly cheap to cast to offset that. When I spec'd into fire I started to actually have fun with the class now that my spells were giving me charge.

Basically my point is that the storm tree's spells should be sustainable without the charge bar, or that the spells should have something about them to warrant their difficulty in working with the charge mechanic.

Salan

• Synergies Developer
  • Administrator
Re: Storm Embermage Charge
« Reply #1 on: April 17, 2013, 01:51:32 AM »
I always wondered why they did that... mmm

what could gain charge and not break the class.  Things like Storm Locus shouldn't gain charge, but if prismatic does why doesn't the lightning balls or the lighting spray... hmm
People motivate themselves, and are inspired by others.
--- I love making FUN encounters, the ones that make you scream with terror, and remember them forever! ---
**more awesome then an awesome possum**

Craftea

• Synergies Focus Group
« Reply #2 on: April 17, 2013, 07:16:03 AM »
Thunder Locus is the only spell that explicitly states that it does not build charge.

Shocking Orbs and Shock Bolts gain charges.

Arc Beam and Shocking Grasp do not gain charges. These two are channeling spells.

Fire Bombs and Fire Storm from the Fire tree explicitly state that they do not build charge.

Hailstorm from the Ice tree explicitly states that it does not build charge.

Perhaps it is just a quirk of Arc Beam and Shocking Grasp that they do not build charge, rather than a balance/design choice by Runic?

DarkAcheron