Author Topic: Electro-Thorns Ranger (Levelling build, in progress)  (Read 10720 times)

Myrkabah

Electro-Thorns Ranger (Levelling build, in progress)
« on: November 27, 2014, 11:07:13 PM »
Hi all! I recently started playing Synergies again and was pleased to note the addition of a Ranger class. Eager to explore the ranged aspect of it, I dove in and did some testing. I'm at about level 70 now, so this guide will evolve as I continue to level up. So far it's performing admirably well.

Build Concept: Turn Thorns into a delivery system for grievous, grievous damage while maintaining high survivability.

Main damage types: Physical, Electric

Stats:
+100 Points Strength
+100 Points Dexterity
+300 points Focus

Skills:

Thorns 15/15

Our main damage dealer. Thorns is exceptional because it is a % weapon DPS skill that fires multiple projectiles, which allows it to deliver DOTs and bonus damage multiple times. This is key for our offensive toolkit.

Electrocute 15/15

Our buff of choice for buffing Thorns. This adds a nice amount of bonus electrical damage to our Thorns spell, turning it into a hybrid of a %weapon DPS skill and a flat damage Focus skill. This skill provides a very noticeable amount of added damage with good Focus, crit, and storm counters.

Slashing Wounds 15/15

Adds a nice DOT to our Thorns attack, and immobilization resistance is nice for a ranged class.

Closure 15/15

Our utility skill. This provides a way to close, and in spite of its name, also a very important escape. It also bunches enemies together for a follow-up Thorns application, debuffs their damage, *AND* heals you. Very, very nice.

Storm Warning 1/15

This provides a nice bit of movement speed when we have a lot of storm counters. Further points just increase the flat speed gain, and not the scaling, so we just need the one point.

Storm Front 15/15

Provides lots and lots of Storm and Electrocute counters for us to burn.

Lightning Tree 15/15